History And Importance of the Kashi Vishwanath Temple

Kashi Vishwanath


The Shiva Purana, a holy book of Hindus, mentions Jyoritlingas. These are the structural manifestations of Lord Shiva and are considered to be Him by Hindus.

The twelve jyotirlingas are Somnath in Gujarat, Mallikarjuna at Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh, Kedarnath in Uttarakhand, Bhimashankar in Maharashtra, Viswanath at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Triambakeshwar in Maharashtra, Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga, Deogarh in Deoghar, Jharkhand, Nageswar at Dwarka in Gujarat, Rameshwar at Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu and Grishneshwar at Aurangabad in Maharashtra.

This temple is situated on Manikarnika Ghat and is considered as a Shakti Peeth or the place of worship for the Shaktism sect of Hinduism. The origin of the Shaktipeets is mentioned in Daksha Yaga.

Kashi Vishwanath temple has a seal or Lord Avimukteshwara dating back to 9-10 century BC which was discovered in Rajghat excavations. The temple is also mentioned in the boom of Xuanzang who visited Benaras in 635 CE. It also finds a mention in Skanda Purana.

The Kashi Vishwanath temple is widely recognized as one of the most important places of worship in the Hindu religion. Inside the Kashi Vishwanath Temple is the Jyotirlinga of Shiva, Vishveshvara or Vishvnath. The Vishveshvara Jyotirlinga has a very special and unique significance in the spiritual history of India.

Best Religious Places to Visit in Varanas
New Vishwanath Temple
Kathwala Temple
Kashi Vishwanath
Golden Temple
Tulsi Manas Temple
Monkey Temple
Bharat Mata Temple
Alamgir Mosque
Parshvanath Jain Temple
Kalbhairav Temple

Top Destinations to Visit Nearby Varanasi

Betla National Park

Top Ghats In Varansi
Bhadaini Ghat
Janaki Ghat
Mata Anandamai
Prabhu Ghat
Panchkota Ghat
Shivala Ghat
Gularia Ghat
Karnataka Ghat
Lali Ghat
Vijayanagaram Ghat
Chauki Ghat
Ksemesvara Ghat
Mansarovar Ghat
Narad Ghat
Raja Ghat
Khori Ghat
Pandey Ghat
Sarvesvara Ghat
Digpatia Ghat
Causatthi Ghat
Rana Mahal Ghat
Ahilyabai Ghat
Sitala Ghat
Dashashwamedh Ghat
Prayag Ghat
Rajendra Prasad Ghat
Tripura Bhairavi Ghat
Meer Ghat
Naya Ghat
Amroha Ghat
Jalasen Ghat
Khirki Ghat
Bajirio Ghat
Scindhia Ghat
Sankatha Ghat
Ganga Mahal Ghat
Bhonsale Ghat
Genesa Ghat
Mehta Ghat
Rama Ghat
Jatara Ghat
Raja Gwalior Ghat
Bala Ghat
Venimadhava Ghat
Pancaganga Ghat
Durga Ghat
Brahma Ghat
Bundi Parakota Ghat
Lal Ghat
Hanumanagardhi Ghat
Badri Nayarana Ghat
Trilochan Ghat
Gola Ghat
Sakka Ghat
Telianala Ghat
Prahalada Ghat
Sant Ravidas Ghat
Shri Panch Agni Akhara Ghat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *